Forgotten Is Me

From where I now sit, I can gaze 
Upon trees and their time withered bows,
And their too fickle leaves.
Alone as I am, abandoned
And free from the burden of family,
Forgotten is me.

From where I now sit, I can hear
Voices sing to the highest of heavens,
Causing sweet tones to ring.
Bereft as I am, no friendship
To see with an oft quiet outlook,
Forgotten is me.

From where I now lay, all about
Is the dark with the shadows of mourning,
And a life empty heart.
At peace now I am, no future
Will be for this lost and unloved,
Forgotten is me. 

Leave a Reply

