Snapshot 2

I saw a black sun today.
You were driving, which for me is a big deal as I’ve always been one to want to be in control. Not in a domineering, manly-man way; more like… actually, it’s nothing that complicated. I just prefer to drive.
But today, you were driving, and the verges of the motorway sped past while we moved in their shadow.
I played the game I play with myself. I spot just one tiny piece of road furniture – a barrier support, a particular cat’s eye, even just a hole or mark in the ground – and I acknowledge it. I focus on it. And I think to myself, “I will never see that piece of the world again”.

You said something to me, about how happy you felt, and as I turned toward you we left the shadows and my eyes were hit square on by the sun. It was like those videos of test nuclear blasts, an instant of pure, white light. This made me slam my eyes shut with a wince, and the impression the sun made behind my eyelids was a black sun. I refused to see this as an omen.

6 Responses to Snapshot 2

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    This makes me want to know what happens next.

    • Simon says:

      Well, it’s not a chapter of a story or anything. It’s just a snapshot, a moment in time… That’s what I’m trying to get across. But it could fit into a longer narrative, couldn’t it 😊 thanks for reading, as always.

  2. Excellently captured. A simple moment but one which carries numerous possibilities.

Leave a Reply

