Snapshot 1

I want to try and write more, and as well as keeping the poetry going, I want to try these ‘snapshot’ pieces of fiction. I have been inspired by Douglas Coupland, who in more than one of his books writes in this style. If you want a good example of his work in this vein, read “Life After God”. I’d like you to be patient and stick with these. I hope to get better at them as time goes on. Thank you.

One day, just as the last morning cup of tea had worked it’s way through my system, I fell down.
It was a shock, because in my mind I was still the youthful footballer, the skillful skate boarder, agile and sure of foot. For a few moments, lying there on my back and looking up at the ceiling, I had an insight into what it might be like to die.
Nothing moved. My entire world was the near 180 degree view of my walls and ceiling. There was silence, just the faint rub-dub of my heartbeat, and the constant low ‘sssshh’ sound that seems to constantly be in my ears.
I held my breath, kept all my limbs and head still, and slowly closed my eyes as though drawing down a blind over a window.
I imagined my inner-self coming loose, untethered, and drifting away like a piece of paper on a still lake. I pictured the scenes that would unfold when I was discovered, cold and alone. The shock, the sadness. In a few moments, a whole lifetime of grief and life moving on was played out on my internal cinema screen. And then I got up, and went about my day.

9 Responses to Snapshot 1

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Hi, hi. Vivid! I hope you do keep writing these snapshots. I’ve always liked your fiction as well as your poetry. 🙂

  2. A well written piece like this can say more than a novel. Nice work.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Chris. Funnily enough, one of the comments on the back of the book Life After God, by Douglas Coupland, written by someone at the London Review of Books, says “Coupland at his best can make a single phrase say more than many another writer’s whole novel”. I love that idea, if the small, self contained story in a few lines… Thanks for the positive feedback my friend

Leave a Reply

