Forbidden Dream

It has been a long time, but I have been lucky enough to work with another talented poet on a collaboration. This one went back and forth, a verse at a time, and we came up with the piece you see below. I hope you like it. Please visit Kat’s blog to read more of her work.

You hugged me in my dream last night,
Warm and protecting, it felt so right.
The night before I couldn’t meet your eyes,
You frowned at me, at my undignified cries.
My weaknesses in my awoken self show desperation for some admission,
Some form of written evidence to rid the numbing of rejection.

You fit my arms so well last night,
I held you so close, I held you so tight.
The night before I got lost in your eyes,
I did not want your protests, I wanted your sighs.
My assurances of your awaking self called delicately for desire,
A way to show you in my deeds that to your passion I aspire.

You softly spoke in my dream last night,
Your voice in my subconscious so consistent.
The night before I felt invisible,
You shrouded me from existence.
Do my words scare you to silence or do they boost your ego from their wanting?
Are you protecting me from your desires? Your ignorance feels so assaulting.

You responded to my words last night,
A sweetly kindled fire slow revealing.
I brought you forth from hiding shadows,
No more to stay in darkness all concealing.
Your craving need expressed with words but skin and flesh speaks message clearer.
The rising heat from untamed lust causes one response; I must be nearer.

You sent waves of electricity through my dream last night,
As your body blanketed mine.
Your imaginary skin glistening with beads of sweat,
As our limbs began to intertwine.
Must you keep on trespassing on my dreams like this and encourage an act so forbidding?
My mind confusing reality and fantasy, creating a bitter heart so unforgiving.

You sparked the charge of dancing fire last night,
As you gave your body to me.
You opened as a flower would bloom,
And showed in deeds what passion should be.
I know no other way of allowing this desire that we know cannot be granted.
So in our dreams I make my intentions clear, with reality supplanted.

You kissed my desperate lips with a purpose last night,
A bitter sweet lasting goodbye.
Many times we’ve rehearsed this scene before,
But this is the last time I want to cry.
You guided me out of the shadows, I can now feel the excruciating pain.
Of no more trying to hold onto a dream, your heart I can never selfishly retain.

You kissed me with your desperate lips last night,
But I also tasted your tears.
The final scene we endlessly live through,
A culmination of our fears.
You granted me a glimpse of heaven, of what we might have been,
But oh alas, this world must win, no more must we live our dream.

4 Responses to Forbidden Dream

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    This is beautiful. Encore?

Leave a Reply

