Once More

I am really not sure about this one. The whole ‘Once more…’ repeating motif. I read it and it seems to work, but I’m not the best judge of this stuff. Anyway… I hope you like it. Thank you for reading.

Once more down dark and twisting roads,
Once more among the black,
Once more into the nightly fray,
Once more no looking back;

Once more my safety in my hands,
Once more a fear of death,
Once more the swiftly beating heart,
Once more a lack of breath;

Once more the light retreats from me,
Once more the darkness grows,
Once more my voice screams in the night,
Once more no other knows;

Once more my nightmares come for me,
Once more my terror wins,
Once more so lost inside the night,
Once more my fear has wings;

Once more the never ending sleep,
Once more a world in mind,
Once more I fear to never wake,
Once more forever blind;

Once more I wake in early hour,
Once more I’m left to be,
But soon the night returns again,
Once more to torture me.

4 Responses to Once More

  1. Oliana says:

    Love this!! The third stanza catches at the heart strings and last stanza is the clencher. To me anyway…repetition is very powerful!!

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Oliana. When I’m unsure of a piece, it’s so nice to hear such positive feedback. I’m so glad you liked it 😊

      • Oliana says:

        How humbling of you to ask your readers for feedback…I love all that you write.

      • Simon says:

        Thank you so much. And it’s really not false modesty when I say I’m happy if just one person reads my words. For someone to like them, and to take the time to tell me, it’s a huge honour for me. Thank you, again 😊

Leave a Reply

