Rain

It’s always the rain I remember.
Whenever someone asks me, “what happened?”, and I have to think back to that day, the day when in a moment my life changed, it’s always the rain I recall first.
Because if it wasn’t for the rain, would I have been there, in your room? Would I instead have been out, rushing through a thousand and one different tasks, each demanding my time?
But no. The rain had kept me in, and as I think back, it was the music of the rain on the window that soundtracked my rude awakening. The soft susurration, in that moment, replacing the sound of my stopped breath.
In that split second, when I read and understood those words, to wish with all my heart that I could go back to not knowing, to carry on living in ignorant bliss; the constant rain denying the fact that I could stop time, reverse it.
Such simple words, a few syllables, once sentence, but with the power to explode my every assumption. To tear away the false facade that was my life, and reveal to me a new future, one of unknown and unplanned for changes.
But throughout those changes, throughout the pain and torment, there was always one constant. The rain.

11 Responses to Rain

  1. My gawd, that was quick!
    This is exactly what I meant in saying that moments caught by someone else can trigger similar recollections or capture exactly the sense of an occasion.
    From opening line to last word, this does just that. There’s a melancholic feel to this that I’m sure everyone can relate to in those rainy afternoons where time almost stands still. The fact that the moment caught tells its own story is eminently relatable.

  2. Excellent work, and I would like to echo Anne-Marie’s comments. I think that you are right, and how we recollect events gives an insight into how we see life. Great work!

  3. Oliana says:

    So beautifully written. We can feel the pain dulled subtly by the rain

  4. Oliana says:

    Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    memories blurred
    moments flash too quickly
    …but for the rain

Leave a Reply

