Everybody Dies Alone

This one may come across as strange, and probably morbid. But there is a good reason. I heard about someone I know passing away yesterday. It wasn’t a member of my family, and it’s someone I only really know at a distance. But it’s obviously put some thoughts into my mind. And the title was something I heard while watching something on TV and the two thing just flowed together. Anyway, morbid as it may be, I hope you like it.

When the shadow draws
And the night arrives,
When the light retreats
And fades;
When the world around
Becomes a dream,
And your eyes draw down
Their shades;
When your memories
Are all that stays,
And your body takes
Its rest;
When your drumming heart
Has beat it’s last,
And a sigh escapes
Your breast;
When finally you
Face the truth,
And all that’s left
Is bones;
You’ll see the final
Message clear,
Everybody
Dies
Alone.

10 Responses to Everybody Dies Alone

  1. Strange is good, and as for morbid, not at all. Rather a little sobering and thoughtful. Well expressed.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Chris. I was worried people would think I was in a dark place, but I’m really not. Thanks, as always, for reading and commenting

  2. swo8 says:

    I don’t think you’ll be alone.
    Leslie

  3. This is excellent! I really like your style.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words, and thank you for reading and taking the time to comment.

      • Lots of poets make pretty patterns, but the patterns don’t vary. Lots of poets write to a formula. Some intellectualise and others paint fantasy as if it is real. It’s a talent, and people like it.
        You do something more. You stand on the bare ground and you write as if the words are flowing through you from another place, and I believe your humility is genuine. I love your poetry. I’ll be back.

      • Simon says:

        That is such a warm and lovely comment, thank you. I’ve said this before on this very blog – I am still amazed people want to read my words. And then when someone ‘likes’ them? That’s so touching. But for someone to take the time to actually compose a comment praising me… It really humbles me. So thank you. And as for words from another places? That pretty much sums up my creative process! Thank you again, so much.

      • You earned every word.

      • Simon says:

        Well not to sound like a stuck record… Thank you 😊

Leave a Reply

