I Saw You Cry

I wrote this last night, and was going to post it then, but I thought I’d sleep in it and see what I thought this morning. I’m still not 100% happy with it, but it’s out there now, so I hope you like it.

I saw you cry, while you sat alone,
A poise in misery.
What broken oath,
Or callous word,
Or vicious secret overheard,
Could grant tears liberty.

I saw your sadness, set loose to run,
This monster tearing free.
What damage done,
Or cutting wound,
Or lonely heart that’s left marooned,
Could paint this grief for me.

I saw you break, your will collapse,
Your failing strength take flight.
What last act,
Or final straw,
Or thought that you could take no more,
Could give you to the night.

I saw you cry, while you sat alone,
My heart within me shattered.
I had my plan,
My day was set,
I had my goals, my things to get,
But your tears were all that mattered.

Leave a Reply

