Lies

The first two lines were the trigger for this one. I was actually feeling bereft of inspiration and then, all of a sudden, these two lines emerged from the murk like a ship from the fog. Hope you like it.

The first lie you told me
Were the last words you said,
No love in your heart,
No me in your head.

We thought that forever
Could be held close and near,
But hands lose their grip
When shaken by fear.

A mask of forgiveness
And patience pretended,
But truth is now out,
Falseness is ended.

Your actions spoke louder
Than a shout from on high,
Facades came crumbling
I’d never know why.

You’re all that I wanted,
But it was not to be,
Our life in five words,
You were lying to me.

16 Responses to Lies

  1. I like this very much. Someone told me recently that something made them read one of poems back to front and it worked both ways. I just did that with this one for some similarly unknown reason and it works perfectly both ways. I would reblog. Or it would make an excellent guest post for tomorrow. if you cared to. šŸ™‚

    • Simon says:

      As always, your supportive comment has really made me smile. I’ll leave it to you – feel free to reblog it if you like, or I can put up a guest post. Just let me know. Thank you, as always ā˜ŗ

  2. toad2014 says:

    nice!

  3. Pingback: Lies | scottishmomus

  4. Scott says:

    Somber, yet beautfiul.

  5. prospermind says:

    Wow, this is wonderful poetry. Your words are well chosen and beautifully put together. šŸ™‚

  6. What a sad and poignant poem. So beautifully penned, it reads so nicely…better said in French this last comment…tes mots coulent si bien

  7. Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    Even sadness has verse that flow so beautifully!

Leave a Reply

