We All Howl At The Moon

Dark dreams do come, and voices rise,
When night arrives too soon.
Alone with thoughts of what has past,
Our faces lit as cheap faux glass,
We all howl at the moon.

Against the will of stubborn world,
We play our dying tune.
Where is the hope that serves our hearts,
The dreams we hold and pray they last,
We all howl at the moon.

Caught up in fights against the tide,
The rising waves of doom.
Such gathered fools who test our will,
Who laugh along with feelings ill,
We all howl at the moon.

Power kept by those in thrall
To money’s sickly bloom.
And though we rage that it’s unfair,
The unkind world just doesn’t care,
We all howl at the moon.

A madness swift to overtake
The grinning of the loon.
A life of trials will drive us mad,
There’s nothing worse than world gone bad,
We all howl at the moon.

18 Responses to We All Howl At The Moon

  1. celonaiphy says:

    Nice piece dear
    Follow Celonaiphyblog.com
    Tell me what you think

  2. Wonderful imagery in this poem. Perhaps we should wail to the Sun?

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Chris. Yet again, it was just one line that triggered this – I think you can guess which one!

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Love your poem…I gaze at the moon in awe and wonder…I get where you are coming from.

    • Simon says:

      Thanks Jaded – I’m glad you like.

      • 1jaded1 says:

        You are welcome. The moon is enchanting. I’m glad your muse has returned and I hope you are doing well, Simon.

      • Simon says:

        As you can see, my muse continues to tease with her fickle visiting times. But at least she does pay the odd visit.

      • 1jaded1 says:

        Yes, I do see. Happy for the visits. Means I get to read you and now off to catch up on what I missed.

      • Simon says:

        I hope you find some other pieces that spark against the tinder in your imagination

      • 1jaded1 says:

        My imagination is not existing. It has died, reality is all that exists for now.

      • Simon says:

        That’s maybe one of the saddest things I’ve ever read. I’m so sorry.

  4. The Spideron says:

    Excellent! This poem really speaks to me.

  5. CivilWhore says:

    Reblogged this on CivilWhoreInk.

  6. prospermind says:

    Can I say BRILLIANT?! I seriously love love love this piece!!
    I’m enjoying myself here, reading through your words is kind of addicting! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

