It’s Not Because

Well – I’m not sure where this came from, but sitting here the first line just fired across my cerebral cortex and then the rest just… flowed. It’s a bit of a throw-away one, but I hope you like it. (AND, as a bonus, it doesn’t take you long to read!) Thanks for reading.

It’s not because you called me names,
It’s not because you cheated.
It’s not because you made me feel
Like someone not completed.

It’s not because you broke my heart,
It’s not because you’re wicked.
It’s not because you told me lies
And made the truth all twisted.

It’s not because you caused me pain,
It’s not because you hurt me.
It’s not because you walked away
And left me cold and lonely.

It’s not because you spurned me so,
It’s not because you’re evil.
It’s not because you took my youth
And left me old and feeble.

It’s not because you stole my will,
It’s not because you broke me.
It’s not because you took my strength
And made me feel unholy.

The reason I am in this state
A world so dark and empty,
Is ’cause you showed me heaven clear
And then denied me entry.

Leave a Reply

