To Rise

Faithful readers…
This is another case of a slightly mis-firing muse. I had the urge to write and post, and this is what came from the wanderings within my imagination. I’m not sure if it’s quite hit the target or not, but I do hope you can see some merit in it. Thank you, once again, for reading.

To rise;
And so sore above these lowering clouds,
Where such air, O! Such air!
Would grant this soul the view to
See all that may be changed.
For ‘neath this covering of grey,
What chance would I have to see clearly
These changes I may make?

To rise;
And so emerge from these blackened deeps,
Where such breath, O! Such breath!
Could be drawn and then used to
Shout this desire for change.
For ‘neath this ocean so dark,
What chance would I have to breath freely
Theses changes for to shout?

To rise;
And so awake from these unkind dreams,
Where such days, O! Such days!
Could be seized upon and used to
Forge this need for change.
For ‘neath this blanket of sleep,
What chance would I have to face the world
Such changes to then make?

To rise;
And above such dreary day to shine,
Where such light, O! Such Light!
Would be so cast and glow upon
These changes I can make.
For ‘neath this shy and weakened shell,
There is the strength to take a hold
And change all that may be changed.

10 Responses to To Rise

  1. Twindaddy says:

    Can I borrow your muse?

    • Simon says:

      My friend, she is wicked and fleeting, teasing and tormenting, and is never around long enough to be completely satisfactory. As you can see from this post.
      However, if I can get her to behave and pay you a visit, consider it done 🙂

  2. Even in puddles there is change. Have you ever looked at the rainbow found floating on the surface? Stirred the waters and it’s there still? Good or bad, it’s all change.
    I really enjoyed the imagery in this and think you can do anything you put your mind to.

  3. fibee5 says:

    I love this so much i will just put a quick comment of WOW as i want to re-read. 🙂

  4. fibee5 says:

    It only gets better with time 🙂 possibly my all time favourite 🙂

  5. Pingback: To Rise : A Reading | Experimental Fiction

Leave a Reply

