Dark Walker

Faithful readers,
This is a strange one. A verse came to me, I started writing the rest, but then the poem morphed and changed and the original verse no longer worked. So I’ve saved it away for another time. Anyway, I hope you like this one. Thank you, as always, for reading.

I’ve often been seen
In emotional slums
A grin that paints pictures of evil,
I scatter my blessings
Like ill gotten gifts
To cause such distressing upheaval.

The tears that are shed
Are like grist to the mill
There to keep the cruel wickedness turning,
To pass in the dark
With a dismissive wave
And a stare to cause sickness and burning.

The weak I pass by
Ignoring their pleas
Dispensing such poisonous wishes,
And all through the night
The stars will stand by
And the moon in its dark will bear witness.

I’ve seen the whole world
It’s tar blackened heart
And I’m often the cause of its sadness,
But still through it all
I’m paid as I go
For I am the master of badness.

So bow as I pass
Avert tired eyes
There’s nought in your saving to offer,
I stand above all
With my cowl of dark grief
And a penchant for making all suffer.

14 Responses to Dark Walker

  1. Bloody politicians! They get everywhere.
    Seriously, nice job on gloom’s delivery to all……yup, deffo politicians.

  2. I know. 🙂 Just my brain right now. It fitted my thoughts on them.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    I love your dark poems. In a way this gave a persona to evil. L.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Jaded. Should I be worried that I seem to have a knack for the dark stuff, I wonder…

      • 1jaded1 says:

        I can’t answer that. Emotions (both light and dark) need release. Writing is a method to that release. I love your writing, always. Xxoo.

      • Simon says:

        You’re very kind, and I appreciate so much the fact you read my words, and are so positive and encouraging in your feedback. Thank you Jaded. I’m happy you still pay this blog a visit 🙂

      • 1jaded1 says:

        When you write the poem to the line you had in mind, I can’t wait.

      • Simon says:

        Funnily enough, it’s also a bit of a dark verse… Or maybe it’s more darkness tinged with regret… We’ll have to see where it goes.

  4. Twindaddy says:

    Emotional slums. I know those places well. Well done again, mate.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. ‘Emotional Slums’ was just a phrase that popped out of nowhere and I thought “Ooh, that works…” so pure luck really.

  5. Jules Lucton says:

    I like your dark poems because i know they come from a lovely source of light 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

