Hand-Me-Down Heart

This has been inspired by the Daily Prompt today, which talks about hand-me-downs. Not really in line with the actual theme, but this came from the prompt. Hope you like it.

Born with a fault, a restriction from birth,
No power to stop who I am.
Not able to change,
Or make a new start,
Because of my hand-me-down heart.

Through life in its narrows, and turbulent sea,
I’m tossed like a cork on a wave.
Decisions I make,
Already apart,
Because of my hand-me-down heart.

As older I get, the future is set,
Mistakes in loves race ready made.
I’ll hurt and I’ll sin,
I’ll make it an art,
Because of my hand-me-down heart.

And now as I stand, with a son of my own,
What difference to him can I make.
He must earn such trust,
and love from the start,
So avoiding my hand-me-down heart.

7 Responses to Hand-Me-Down Heart

  1. Saya says:

    Good one πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hand-Me-Downs | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Hand-me-down Birthday | Cancer Isn't Pink

  4. Oh the imagery “tossed like a cork on a wave” so heartwrenching. Even hand-me-down-hearts heal and are often most resilient for they’ve gone around the world many times and survived.

Leave a Reply

