Show Me

The wonderfully talented & supportive TwinDaddy responded to my post this morning with “Thank you sir, may I have another?” – and as I often aim to please, I rattled this quick one off for you all. Hope you like it.

Show me those things, that are kept safe within,
Like a treasure so hidden down deep.
Share with me secrets, the truths in your heart,
And allow me the honour to keep.

Where does the time go, rushing away,
Like the moment of love gone too soon?
Where do the stars learn to shine, in the darkness,
Can you show me the back of the moon?

How many angels, can dance on a pin,
And how many can fit in your hand?
What is the colour, of lovers young dream,
As they walk with their feet in the sand?

Where do the memories, faded and grey,
Spend their time when they’re here never more?
What sound does a heart make, painfully sad,
When it shatters and falls to the floor?

How can a love, supposedly sweet,
Be a bitter and hard lesson learned?
And how can a person, all on their own,
Ever heal from a love cruelly spurned?

Show me those things, that are kept safe within,
Like a treasure so hidden down deep.
Share with me secrets, the truths in your heart,
And allow me the honour to keep.

16 Responses to Show Me

  1. Desiree G says:

    Perfect.

    • Simon says:

      Oh Desiree, hardly ‘perfect’, but I really do appreciate your kind words. And thanks for taking the time to read my work.

      • Desiree G says:

        I don’t dole out “perfection” quickly —- but when words such as yours touch me, I can’t deny how “perfect” the moment is to me, your reader!! πŸ˜‰ Thank you for sharing!!

      • Simon says:

        You’re making an old man very happy, thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Twindaddy says:

    Simply brilliant.

  3. Impressive writing. As ever you challenge your reader. Well done!

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Chris – recently I have not set out to ‘challenge’, but I want to develop my writing to do that more often. Thanks, as ever, for reading & commenting

  4. hastywords says:

    This reached in and pulled strings that have previously only been plucked. Beautiful.

  5. You’re on a roll! Another that flows sweetly and in fine poetic form.

  6. fibee5 says:

    I love this, it made me think on how me and my husband haave always been open with eachother, showing whats hidden down deep. At times this is avery hard thing, whats hidden can often be hurtful to both. Love how your work brings such memories.

    • Simon says:

      And I love how my words have such an effect on you. I’m so happy that this had touched something between you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

