Entertainer

As I’m sure you’re all aware, we lost a great comic and actor, and a wonderful person, in Robin Williams. He’s always been one of my favourites. I’m old enough to remember Mork & Mindy, and Good Morning Vietnam is one of my favourite films. This poem is not for him, or about him – my words aren’t good enough to do him, or his situation, justice. However, the fact he dealt with such demons for so long, while entertaining millions, brought this poem to mind. I hope you like it.
R.I.P Robin Williams.

Will you laugh with me, as I entertain?
My jokes and japes hide damage deep,
Brought on by memories I’m loathe to keep,
But here I stand before you all,  what do I hope to gain?

Will you cry with me, when I’m drowned in pain?
I’m there for you, your smiles to feed,
But where are you all in my hour of need,
I have not strength to ask for help,
The balm to keep me sane.

You laud me so, and endow me with fame.
How easily you turn your back,
When darkness draws and mood turns black,
You follow my life day to day,
But how quickly you lose my name.

So laugh along with me, I’ll hide my hard pain.
Soon this life will take me away,
I have no strength to last come what may,
But why should you care anyway,
I’m just here to entertain.

2 Responses to Entertainer

  1. I agree with your sentiments, and I feel that your poem captures society’s view of depression well – just turn away and ignore it. Sadly until one has touched the depths it seems almost impossible to understand the reality-numbing effects that the condition has. The loss of Mr. Williams is tragic, but, given the nature of his demons, not entirely a shock.

    • Simon says:

      I’ve not suffered as much as a lot of people, but I have been touched by depression, a few years ago – so I do have some empathy with people such as Robin Williams.
      It is an affliction that needs far more support, recognition, and understanding. Thank you for the comment, I always appreciate your feedback and input.

Leave a Reply

