Words

With words I’ll fight and stand
My ground,
Despite your arms that crash
And pound.
My language strong can calm
Your rage,
Will shatter walls and bend
This cage.
My powered speech will cry
Out loud,
While in your armour you
Stand proud.
But iron skin cannot
Hold strong,
For with my words I right
All wrongs.
There is no power, fire
Or force,
To stand the tide of
Words endorsed.
And though behind your shield
You stand,
My verbs and nouns destroy
Your plans.
So build your walls,
Defences high,
My words have power to breach
The sky.
No matter what you build
So bold,
My words are tireless
Ages old.
For throughout time and all
The worlds,
There’s nothing stronger than
My words.

18 Responses to Words

  1. Strong words with determination throughout. More powerful than the sword as is said. You’ve put this across very well.

  2. Glad to hear it. I think mine is still on holiday! πŸ˜‰

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Love this. Words spoken an.d unspoken, are most powerful. They will tear down any wall.

  4. Great cadence. You carried this point through strongly!

    • Simon says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ As happens with a lot of my words, I’m not sure where the inspiration came from, but there it is!

  5. Twindaddy says:

    Love this one, Simon.

  6. Asha Gowan says:

    May I say phenomenally crafted Simon! The entire poem comes full circle into the finality of the last line…”there’s nothing stronger than my words.” I love the simplicity here.

    • Simon says:

      And may I say, thank YOU for the effusive comment Asha. As I commented some time earlier, I appreciate every single view, like, and comment. I am forever humbled whenever someone who doesn’t even know me takes the time to read, and comment, on my work.
      I hope you find some other pieces here you like, but thank you for taking the time to visit πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

