The Man Afraid Of Stairs

Faithful readers…
The refrain “The man afraid of stairs” has been going round my head for weeks. This finally, after a long and painful labour, is what’s resulted from it. I’m not entirely happy, and I may revisit the man himself, but for now it feels good to get something down. I hope you like it.

Through the town where monsters sleep,
She leads me on a dare;
To darkened tower high above,
And the man afraid of stairs.

He lives above the maddening crowd,
In cloud touched minaret;
Where visitors of daring do,
Could say they are well met.

With fear of steps he will not roam,
Remaining in his lair;
What life is there upon the ground,
For the man afraid of stairs?

To travel round the winding walls,
Arriving at his door;
The sound of moaning from within,
Fists beating on the floor.

She calls allowed through painted wood,
“Poor wretch, are you in there?”
But not a sound is heard within,
From the man afraid of stairs.

With caring voice she asks of him,
“What caused your fear to run?”
Though satisfaction we both craved,
An answer there was none.

And so she led me by the hand,
Bored now with her dare;
We’d never learn the story of,
The man afraid of stairs.

4 Responses to The Man Afraid Of Stairs

  1. I really like this but I wouldn’t stop if I were you. It feels as if it could go on to be an epic with more of the fantasy to unfold. It’s so lyrical and trips off the tongue when read aloud. There seems to be something more she knows and there’s certainly more from the man afraid of stairs. The third party approach makes it seem almost like a ghost story or a mystery. I’d love to read more. My imagination’s already on wild fire mode. I’d change the last two lines slightly if you continue it to lead on to more of the story.
    Hope you don’t mind my thoughts on it but it’s such a great storyline it would be a shame to not continue. Did I say I really liked it? Loved it.

  2. Almost like a Classic Fairy Tale or moralistic story. I’d like to see how you could develop this to expand on your lead. Most enjoyable!

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. You’re not the only person to think this has more legs. Maybe I’ll develop it more…. Or if someone else would like to take up the challenge, have at it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

