Sainted Peace

Faithful readers…
This is a weird one. I know where the idea came from, but it kind of got away from me. It’s one of those that would have been good to collaborate on. Anyway, I hope you like it. Thanks for reading.

They started in lust
With a care-free abandon,
And soon as two souls
The fell swiftly in love.

Days spent in wonder
And nights full of passion,
They each thanked the heavens
And God up above.

But life with its arrows
And time moving onwards,
Tests all and each of us
Day after day.

With no one to turn on
But the woman once cherished,
His angry frustration
Was not held at bay.

The first time he struck
She shouldered the burden,
Assuming that something she did
Was to blame.

But time after time
His fists did the talking,
And finally one night
She’d had enough pain.

As he lay sleeping
In growling dark nightmares,
She slipped from the bed
That they fitfully shared.

In the kitchen she found
The means of her freedom,
A cold and hard blade
On which moonlight did glare.

Climbing the stairs
As though climbing a mountain,
Each step a tough test
Of her burgeoning will.

And standing above him
With heart pounding harder,
She was gripped by the question
“Could I kill?”.

With one precise motion
Old troubles were over,
No more would she suffer
At the hands of this beast.

And through her remorse
And her nights locked in prison,
She knew in her heart
She had earned sainted peace.

12 Responses to Sainted Peace

  1. Oh, this is dark and does beg the question. I’ve always said, ‘they have to sleep sometime,’ when thinking what I’d do if anyone ever tried to use me as a punchbag. Whether I’d be able to is another thing. My favoured weapon wouldn’t be a knife though, I don’t think. What thoughts you have me thinking! I like the flow in this,I can almost hear Kenny Rogers singing it. Lyrical with a message.

  2. Most of this poem I saw someone very close to me living every moment you described except she left…it is raw and real, Simon. Great poem!!

Leave a Reply

