Perfect Realisation

So here’s another of my ‘publish without censoring’ posts. Came to me in a thought, triggered by the title. I hope you like it.

It chases me,
This guilty flush of
Perfect realisation;
That throughout all,
My self confessed addiction
Was mistaken.

These platitudes,
Which spilled from me
In yearning and elation;
Were nought in fact,
But empty words of
Quickly spent temptation.

We often find,
The hidden secret kept
In isolation;
Reveals a truth,
We’ve struggled so to hide
From contemplation.

And now we’ve come,
In circle full to
This capitulation;
I will not hide,
Nor turn away from this
Perfect realisation.

12 Responses to Perfect Realisation

  1. Poems that are raw and straight from the heart often, I feel, work best when they are not tampered with, and this is no exception. Thought-provoking and honest – a great piece of writing.

  2. Jules Lucton says:

    I love the sentiment but also the style, which makes me think of a Shakespeare soliloquy.

    • Simon says:

      Thanks Jules – it took me five goes to even SPELL soliloquy….

      • Jules Lucton says:

        I had to check the spelling – and then copied/pasted it. Didn’t mean to sound arty-farty, but that’s what they call those bits that the poem reminded me of. As you well know πŸ˜‰

  3. fibee5 says:

    this work has such a gentle tempo i really love reading your work aloud πŸ™‚ this is fast becoming one of my favorite. i think there should be a way of logging favorite blogs πŸ˜€

    • Simon says:

      I’m pleased to hear it πŸ™‚ And of course, if you feel the need to send over more recordings, you know I’ll publish them πŸ™‚

      • fibee5 says:

        hahaha i still dont have very good methods of recording so think i will just enjoy reading your work πŸ™‚

      • fibee5 says:

        hahaha Always after me for recording πŸ˜› got cough n cold atm so prob not wise πŸ™‚

      • Simon says:

        Fibee! You’re back! I’ve missed your supportive comments on this ol’ blog.

      • fibee5 says:

        yea im sorry i have been away, still trying to balance crazy life. I think i lost sight of what i really enjoyed in writing and it became a chore but fingers crossed this time i’m back to stay πŸ™‚ What few poems of yours must I make sure i read? which are your favourites since i disappeared? πŸ™‚

      • Simon says:

        Well I’ve missed you πŸ™‚

        As for that to catch up on… Blimey. I’ve written a few. And I’m rubbish at promoting my own work, as you know…
        Just take a browse through a few, and I hope you find some you like πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

