Through The Night

It’s been a while, but here’s another new one, written and published as it formed this morning. Hope you like it.

In a small quiet room
Where my sleep so evades,
The moonlight reveals
Dusty shadows and shades.

We talk about darkness
And what might well be,
As you draw the night sky
On the window for me.

Though my body craves rest
And a dreamingless state,
Your voice keeps my calm
Through the hours so late.

Worlds so imagined
And conjured by you,
Opens my mind
To a universe new.

And as the horizon
Shows dawn in her light,
With you here my love
I can get through the night.

8 Responses to Through The Night

  1. Restless nights may produce lovely poems. This is one.

  2. fibee5 says:

    with the line ‘we talk about darkness’ did you mean it to imply talking over fears and worries in life and very negative conversations? as the third stanza implies a positive conversation; opening you into a new world. I love this poem with the flow and theme šŸ™‚

    • Simon says:

      Thanks Fi (and welcome back :0) )
      I’m not sure where ‘we talk about darkness’ came from – I think I’ll leave it to the reader to put their own meaning onto it….

      • fibee5 says:

        thank you, i am looking through your poems that i have missed. šŸ™‚ well to me it will be talking about fears in the future then šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

