Drift Away

To drift away on
Seas of night;
While storms did rage
And throw themselves
At shuttered glass
Suffused with light.

Where mind can wander
Shackles shorn;
To seek a world
In dreaming state
To voyage through
’til breaking dawn.

Remembered faces
From the past;
Seen while sleeping
In places new
With secrets told
Dispersions cast.

With rising sun the
Scattered night;
Dreams locked away
In treasured chest
Banished now
In morning light.

22 Responses to Drift Away

  1. So lovely to read your words again. And with something so beautifully penned. The dream state where so much abounds. Too long gone, Simon. Hope this sees your return. 🙂

  2. Of course I do. It’s always beautifully done. And from the heart. Although if you don’t post more I’ll be revisiting the earlier stuff. What happened to doing more of your recordings of poems and songs? Busy life? Hope all is well. And, as I said, looking forward to more from your pen.

  3. No problem. I hate when my favourites go awol. 😉

  4. Desiree G says:

    The dreams that we must whisk away in the light of day, but how I look forward to every starry night. Love it!!

  5. kwicksand says:

    Remembered faces
    From the past;
    Seen while sleeping
    In places new
    With secrets told
    Dispersions cast

    Perfection! Just poetry at it’s best. What a treat to see one of your poems among the posts in my reader. Thanks for sharing.

    • Simon says:

      Perfection is far too strong a word for this, but thank you, I’m glad you liked it.

      • kwicksand says:

        You are very welcome. In my heart and soul those words rang a very loud strong bell. I re-blogged. I want others to appreciate those words.

      • Simon says:

        Well, thank you, again, and thanks for the reblog. I hope you keep reading 🙂

      • kwicksand says:

        I will!

  6. kwicksand says:

    Reblogged this on Quick Sand and commented:
    One of my favorites, here on wordpress. Simon just takes words to a new level!

  7. fibee5 says:

    I dont think my dreams get locked away lol, think i do a fair amount of day dreaming 😛
    Great poem, sorry haven’t been around much.

  8. rsvendsen07 says:

    This is beautifully written. Well done. ❤️

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. I notice you’ve discovered my blog and liked a lot of posts. I am very grateful. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my work and to post this lovely comment.

Leave a Reply

