Generous Heart

OK, so my muse made a fleeting visit last night, but goodness me, is anyone else sick of the love poems?! My mind keeps throwing them out, and as nice as they are, I really want a change in my internal universe. I want abstract, flights of fancy, real world, anything really… apart from maybe the dark stuff, that worries a certain someone. Anyway… hope you like this one. I may be a bit bored of the love poems, but the sentiment behind this one is a true one. Enjoy it.
Much love,

Simon

Turning once more
into something I’m not,
bidding farewell
to the man time forgot.

Stood at the edge
of this maddening world,
the stars scattered ‘fore me
like diamonds so hurled.

This feeling of change
sweeping all doubts away,
believing in nothing
no longer holds sway.

I’ve come through the night
with my essence intact,
my soul only tarnished
not stained oily black.

A smile unfamiliar
appears on my face,
a scowl at the world
no longer in place.

Who thought years ago
that this man would be healed,
under this darkness
a light so revealed.

The reason for changes,
this fresh and new start,
is love ever blessing
from your generous heart.

9 Responses to Generous Heart

  1. Beautiful. Your muse did not let let you down with this. It’s full of hope and new beginnings. A turning point in your life perhaps.
    Sometimes flights of fancy appear in the middle of the night or on first waking. Dreams that make no sense or fleeting images. If you’re looking for a change of pace maybe try writing your first thoughts as they occur. Just a thought. It works for me. Mind full of all sorts of strange notions. Not that there’s anything wrong with love poems. I find myself flitting from one subject to another. πŸ˜‰
    Delighted though to see your return with something so beautiful in essence and style.

    • Simon says:

      As always, I am so very appreciative of your comments, it does my creative spark good to know people still like reading what I spurt onto the screen… (so to speak)

  2. toad (chris jensen) says:

    Reblogged this on Keptmeprisoner.

  3. Jolie Michele says:

    I know what you mean about getting stuck writing certain kind of poems. I have never been able to write anything but dark stuff when I make my half-assed attempt to write a poem. It just comes more naturally to me than the fanciful. Even in my attempt at short stories, they are gritty and rough. Love the poem though. You have some major talent with words.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Jolie. I think that’s where collaborations can help – when I’ve done them in the past, it’s inspired new trains of thought. Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to comment.

  4. fibee5 says:

    you may be sick of love poems but i’m not sick of reading them, beautiful πŸ™‚

  5. Desiree G says:

    A love poem without reeking of a love poem!! πŸ˜‰ Well done.

Leave a Reply

