Waves

I’m taking the advice of a very talented fellow blogger, John, (from the very wonderful Book Of Pain) who said to me when he learned I was stuggling with my muse…”Simon, trying writing a completely different type of poem on a totally different sort of topic, and no matter what, post it. It may help loosen your muse.”
I did try to write a totally different type of poem, but it morphed into another love poem *sigh*. Anyway, I’m posting “no matter what”, so I hope you like it, and make sure you visit John’s blog, you won’t be disappointed. Thank you.

And where the boats wait,
with their sails safely furled,
we sit on the dock
to discuss this mad world.

What bricks can life fling
at our dream slowly made,
to tear all asunder
plans carefully laid?

“Let’s steal a boat”
you state into the day,
“and sail across oceans
to lands far away”.

“But darling” I cry
with a smile on my lips,
“I do not have knowing
of sailing and ships”.

“Don’t worry, dear heart”
you reply with a laugh
“for the waves they will take us
as long as love lasts”.

We kiss as the seagulls
fly high overhead,
and waves stir up treasures
from the darkened sea bed.

We can’t steal a boat
to lands far away,
but perhaps we can dream
for just this one day.

And waves in the ocean
will roll in and depart,
but they won’t outlast
this love in my heart.

16 Responses to Waves

  1. Desiree G says:

    I think it is exquisitely done. I am a child of the sea and believe the salt water heals all wounds …. eventually.

  2. I really like this. Beautifully written…..the way it’s done as a commentary with the dialogue gives it a very different ‘flavour’.
    Excellent advice from John.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. My muse has still not yet fully returned but I hope to reinvigorate it a little more over this weekend.

  3. Weekends are a great time to relax and let the muse wander. Free the mind away from the pressures of workaday week. 🙂

  4. toad (chris jensen) says:

    Reblogged this on Keptmeprisoner.

  5. toad (chris jensen) says:

    i do agree, if one gets stuck, writing something different works for me also. Then post, i mean some of the post in-which i have made really stink… So don’t worry!

  6. fibee5 says:

    dialogue in a poem wow! i could never pull that off, well done on a great poem 🙂

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Fi, always appreciated. Long time no hear!

      • fibee5 says:

        yeah i was shocked when i realised it had been over a month :O truth is I got busy writing a novel and out of the habit of coming on here plus doing more days volanteering at charity shop so busy busy but i’m trying to reassess my balance in life. sorry i’ve been away

      • Simon says:

        No need to apologise Fi, I know exactly what you mean, I’ve had no time to read or write or anything. It’s very frustrating…

      • fibee5 says:

        yeah got a bit of time today 🙂 hope to catch up

  7. john says:

    Simon, Thank you for the mention, I appreciate it. That first verse…wow! Your muse is not gone by any stretch, although she may have got a little shy of late.

    One last word of advice? “Repeat.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

