Do Not Face The Dark Alone

Do not face the dark alone;
if rudely dragged from slumber deep,
and dreams that haunt forbid you sleep,
then wake me while I lay beside you,
don’t face the dark alone.

Do not watch the night alone;
if sudden waking reveals the black,
and rest eludes with no look back,
then whisper to me across the pillow,
don’t watch the night alone.

Do not count the hours alone;
as restless mind ticks down the time,
approaching dawn pervades your mind,
then hold me in the light emerging,
don’t count the hours alone.

Do not face the dark alone;
for sleep could never give me rest,
nor pleasure granted at dreams behest,
if I knew you’d lay watching nights dark world,
don’t face the dark alone.

19 Responses to Do Not Face The Dark Alone

  1. Very soothing. Like a lovely lullaby.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. Lullaby wasn’t quite what I was going for, but I get why that fits. Thanks, as always, for reading & commenting

  2. I think it feels like a lullaby because I could imagine it being sung. It would fit very well to music. Now you just have to come up with a melody. 😉

    • Simon says:

      hhmm… not my strength I’m afraid, but if you know of anyone who’s got a talent in that area, by all means, have at it!

  3. Might give that a go myself! I’m fond of making up songs and tunes. Not necessarily blog worthy right enough. 😉

    • Simon says:

      I’d be honoured if you were able to do something like that, and blog-worthy or not, I’d love to hear it.

  4. There’s process involved you know. 😉 First I’d have to learn the words by heart and then let the music flow into them. Then I have to try it out by voice to see if it’s any good. Not a simple task you know. But I might just give it a go. I’ll go halfers on the royalties. 🙂

  5. Now if I start singing on my blog as well I might get a whole new audience! As long as they don’t come armed with ripe tomatoes. 😉

  6. 1jaded1 says:

    No use both of us being awake, when one can sleep. Sometimes the dark is soothing.

  7. john says:

    Lovely, truly lovely.

  8. fibee5 says:

    I agree about it feeling almost like a lullaby 🙂 such a gentle flow to the words 🙂

  9. toad (chris jensen) says:

    Reblogged this on Keptmeprisoner.

Leave a Reply

