Dark Love

With thanks to the talented Jaded for her feedback before publication

It took me as I lay,
in a fog of sleeplessness
and thought.
These sinister cherubs
evil of eye and wicked
of laugh,
that hounded me to the
brink of insanity,
until finally, with one
last look at my departing soul,
I gave myself over to this dark love.

With a sinners guilt,
unwanted yet irresistible,
it drowned me.
This sick seraphim
filled my mind with lust
and loss,
promised me paradise in
every heartbeat,
if I would only turn,
away from the light so pure,
and accept the black joy of this dark love.

Resistance fell from my heart,
it welcomed this tainted sin of
palpable night.
This fallen angel
at last reduced me to naught
but want,
removed all restraint
so held,
and in screaming silence
I succumbed to the shadows,
and lost myself to this terrible, wonderful, dark love.

12 Responses to Dark Love

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    It was all you…

  2. john says:

    Simon,

    Wow!. May well be the best thing that I know of that you’ve ever written. What do you think?

  3. Excellent imagery expressing intense feeling. A powerful read.

  4. fibee5 says:

    Worth a re-read ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you are starting to like some of your work as you are super talented ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Fi. Don’t know about super talented but the fact that talented people such as you like my work makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

