Thief

I’m really struggling for inspiration and motivation at the moment. I managed to throw this together. I’m sure I’m not the only person who, from time to time, struggles with lack of ‘oopmh’ but it really does drag me down when it occurs. Anyway. I hope those of you who are still reading this don’t mind the odd quiet period. Thanks for reading.

Much love,

Simon

You’ve stolen from me
that which made me strong;
my pride, my will
my angry song.

You’ve robbed from me
that which holds back death;
my heart, my soul
my precious breath.

You’ve taken from me
that which protected me so,
my courage, my shield,
my cloak of self woe.

All this you’ve stolen,
like a thief in the night;
but to lose this to you
feels so clear and so right.

8 Responses to Thief

  1. Your Muse has returned! I’m delighted. And such great words. Quiet’s good too when you need it. Your readers will be ever patient. We all have our moments. So we all get it.x

  2. Some of the best ones come just like that. Too hard on yourself I’d say. And you’re welcome. Not being kind. Honest.

  3. john says:

    Simon,

    Try what I do…take on something very different from my comfort zone: a narrative poem, perhaps, with a different line structure than I am used to, using an impersonal tone (‘he’ not ‘I’) on a topic that doesn’t at first grab me. It may help. Or, try this: google “best art illustration” and find an image that catches your eye…what does it say poetically to you.

    In the meantime, read poetry and be patient. It is not, by the way, evident to any of us that you are struggling.

    john

    • Simon says:

      John

      Thank you, as always, for your kind comments. And the ideas you have suggested are brilliant ones. I do like to push myself, test myself, but I think at the moment as I’m in a bit of a funk it’s hard to push myself to do that. I often want to try different styles and subjects, and I do have some ideas… maybe I should stop my internal critic shouting so loud when I attempt to write something out of my comfort zone.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a helpful comment 🙂

      Simon

  4. 1jaded1 says:

    Well, for what it is worth, the chime my inbox makes when your work comes in, makes me smile. I like this.

  5. toad (chris jensen) says:

    Reblogged this on tot123itsme.

Leave a Reply

