Before I Was A Broken Man

I was different, quite full of hope,
before I was a broken man.
I thought fragility was for others,
my trust so placed in inner strength,
belief in love and romance true,
before I was a broken man.

I was unique, I stood apart,
before I was a broken man.
But now in commonality I’m joined,
with other souls in a sea of hurt,
once I soared above it all,
before I was a broken man.

I once did smile, had faith in joy,
before I was a broken man.
I took from life such pleasure as owed,
my disposition held a positive bent,
with happiness I looked on all,
before I was a broken man.

I was different, so very different,
before I was a broken man.
But life in cruelty and unfair sport,
has hammered and broken all I once was,
and left me with naught but these memories from
before I was a broken man.

25 Responses to Before I Was A Broken Man

  1. kwicksand says:

    Your work always provokes my emotions!

    • Simon says:

      That is one of the highest compliments I could ask for. If anything I write invokes any sort of an emotional response, then my words have not been written in vain. Thank you.

  2. Twindaddy says:

    I used to not be broken, too.

  3. Ria Robinson says:

    When I saw the title I knew that I could relate. I use to smile everyday, was outgoing but I allowed people to affect me and my dreams. Im in battle with myself and this economy doesn’t make it any better. I know that God hears our cries and He will make a way out of no way for everyone who is struggling. Thank you for writing this poem, it really did touch me.

  4. All the best people get broken. It’s being put back together again where the miracle occurs. I believe in miracles.x

    • Simon says:

      I don’t believe in miracles, there’s not much I do believe in any more, but tough times don’t last, tough people do.

  5. So are you getting tough then? A bit sad, if so.x

  6. Ok then. Hugs and kisses ‘cos hurting sucks.x

Leave a Reply

