Morning

Sun has risen;
grant me one last kiss
‘fore day has grown
it’s wings.
The night was ours,
in starlights splendour
and breathless fervour,
but sun has risen.

Dawn has broken;
gift me one more smile
‘fore day has stretched
it’s legs.
The dark was ours,
in moonlights glow
and sweetened touch,
but dawn has broken.

Night is passed;
tell me that you love me
‘fore day takes you
away.
My heart is yours,
in life devoted
and time unending,
but night is passed.

6 Responses to Morning

  1. irisoniris says:

    Aww. I feel like having a gooood stretch and blowing a kiss. Haha! Fine expression. Gentle like dawn.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you for the lovely comment, and for taking the time to read this piece. I’m glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  2. linamay says:

    “The dark was ours” I like that πŸ™‚

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Linamay, I’m so pleased you got something from this πŸ™‚ Thank you for taking the time to read AND comment.

  3. Beth says:

    You write wonderfully- I’m always delighted- and I would bet a personal reading from you would be exquisite.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you Beth. I wouldn’t go as far as ‘wonderful’ but I certainly appreciate the sentiment. And a personal reading… Goodness, not with my voice. Although if you look at the “Readings” category I’m sure I recorded one of my poems πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

