Speak Not

Speak not, dear heart;
words in this timeless moment
would mar our physical expression.
For what is love, if not
expressed with the poetry
of touch and taste,
the prose of
sigh and breath?
If poetry be the language
of love, then let our actions
be a symphony,
a kaleidoscope of
color and movement to
shame even the most artistic
of poets.

Speak not, dear heart;
words have no place in our
world of light and shadow.
For what words are needed,
when desires can be so clearly seen
in the widening eye,
in moistened lips of
passion?
Never so sweetly has my
body been in tune with another,
as clear in tone and song,
as beautifully blessed,
as heavens own
sainted chorus.

Speak not, dear heart.

Speak not.

9 Responses to Speak Not

  1. Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    One of my favourite songs is More than Words by Extreme…this poem adds to the passion of Love.


    More than words

    Saying ‘I Love you’ is not the words
    I want to hear from you
    It’s not that I want you
    Not to say But if you only knew
    How easy it would be to show me how you feel
    More than words
    Is all you have to do to make it real
    Then you wouldn’t have to say
    That you love me cause I’d already know

    What would you do if my heart was torn in two

    More than words to show you feel
    That your love for me is real

    What would you say if I took those words away

    Then you couldn’t make things new
    Just by saying I love you

    La la ri la la ri la ri la la la , more than words
    la la ri la la ri la… uuuuuuuu uuuuuh…

    Now that I’ve tried to
    Talk to you and make you understand
    All you have to do is
    Close your eyes and just reach out your hands

    And touch me hold me close
    Don’t ever let me go
    More than words
    Is all I ever needed you to show
    Then you wouldn’t have to say
    That you love me cause I’d already know

    What would you do if my heart was torn in two

    More than words
    To show you feel
    That your love for me is real

    What would you say if I took those words away

    Then you couldn’t make things new
    Just by saying I love you

  2. Your words describe beautifully the need for no words in love.x

  3. Noora says:

    Amazingly composed masterpiece. Loved the flow.

    • Simon says:

      Oh goodness, masterpiece?? You flatter me, you really do. I’d disagree, but my therapist says I should learn to better cope with compliments 🙂

Leave a Reply

