Scars

I have a tattoo
on my arm. It didn’t
sting, I felt no harm.
It’s there as a reminder
from a time before.
That’s what it’s there for.

I have a scar upon
my head. It looked
like ketchup when it bled.
It marks my head from
when I fell on the floor.
That’s what it’s there for.

I have gaps in
my teeth. Some above
and some seen beneath.
They teach me how my
mouth should be cared for.
That’s what they’re there for.

I have a scar on
my heart. From every
love, it’s end and start.
They remind me how love
often goes as before.
That’s what they’re there for.

10 Responses to Scars

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Everything serves a purpose.

    • Simon says:

      This was just a silly idea I got on the train to work! It started out with such promise, but then.. kinda fell away. Still, publish and be damned eh?

      • 1jaded1 says:

        Lol, it is whimsical. I laughed at the ketchup part, but I’m twisted, that way. ;-). πŸ˜€

      • Simon says:

        Well, they can’t all be winners I guess… but thanks for the kind words Jaded, as always

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    Everything happens for a reason.. It’s how we deal with it is what matters πŸ™‚
    I liked the idea of the poem!

  3. Snap. I started one the other day about the war wounds we gather on the way. I like it. Your description recalls a life lived.x

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. For the first time though, I’m actually thinking of taking this one down – the more I read it, the more I don’t like it…

Leave a Reply

