Not A Poet

These words that fight my fragile hold
and so deny their lighted view,
cannot compare to others work
so blessed with art and truth.

These worlds I pluck from minds dark space
and humbly show the gazing few,
are bleak and barren, empty so
not jewelled with seas of blue.

These structured phrases scattered here
that poorly get my point across,
are naught but scruffy anecdotes
that talk of love and loss.

This effort worked in to these lines
that surely would be better spent,
seems pointless now in artists hope
though sweet was it’s intent.

But battle on with each attempt
for words and prose are all I’ve got,
to clearly state what’s in this heart
but poet, I am not.

18 Responses to Not A Poet

  1. Chatty Owl says:

    Yes you are.
    You are.
    You are!
    You
    are…

  2. Jules Lucton says:

    “Yes you are!” 🙂 xxx

    • Simon says:

      As I mentioned to Chatty – I really didn’t write this to get that kind of feedback. But thank you Jules. 🙂

      • Jules Lucton says:

        I know – but i just had to say it, even if it annoys you. It’s like the “Wet Paint” sign that makes me want to touch.

  3. So, if you’re not a poet, what constitutes one? There is illuminating truth and art in your work. That does it for me.x

  4. Jo says:

    Yes you are :-p

  5. Cubby says:

    No, you are not a poet; you are a writer with the ability to move people’s hearts and transform words into a structure that is both meaningful and beautiful. What you write is not poetry; it is art. Therefore, you are an artist who uses words as their brush to paint the beauty in your heart.

    • Simon says:

      That’s probably one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said about this blog. Thank you Cubby. I’m touched. You’re wrong, of course, but I appreciate the sentiment 😉

  6. 1jaded1 says:

    You are a writer, an artist AND a poet. I’ve been reading your older work and I’m just as riveted.

  7. fibee5 says:

    You didn’t write this to get comments but to express how you feel. however as you can see many people disagree with you. I know i struggle to see my talent so i understand the feeling. I love your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

