Gift

Twas late at night
and tired we were,
we talked of whys and
whens.
You asked me what
I’d gift to you
if money had no end.

The crown from
Cinderella’s brow,
the cape of riding,
red.
A single rose
of porcelain white
to keep beside
your bed.

A dress of silk
with lace brocade,
a star from heavens
sky.
A strip of velvet
soft to touch,
on which your head
to lie.

A summers day
of golden light,
to visit on your
whim,
A kiss from angels
sweetened lips,
never touched
by sin.

Of all the gifts
I offered you,
in whole or just
in part,
the only one you’d
take from me,
my misbegotten
heart.

16 Responses to Gift

  1. S. says:

    waw! really nice!

  2. Cubby says:

    I come back to re-read your stuff because it has such good re-read value. Loved this one a lot.

  3. fibee5 says:

    such a touching poem, made me smile. You are just so talented 🙂

Leave a Reply

