Blind Date

We danced and turned around the floor,
the bar was ready to close.
When we met you hid a smirk,
from laughing at my clothes.

We drank too much of dodgy wine,
and reservations left.
You started on the seat across,
but ended on my left.

I felt as though this was a trick,
a prank played by a friend.
For why would you be sitting here,
I could not comprehend.

Eventually we shared a kiss,
hesitant and nervous.
I accidentally bit your lip,
you thought it was on purpose.

Complaining bar staff finally won,
and firmly they removed us.
We stood and huddled in the cold,
scanning for the night bus.

You called a cab and left me there,
with smile as wide as heaven.
I had the nicest night of all,
a score from ten, eleven.

I don’t know what I did so wrong,
or why you now won’t call me.
perhaps my charm began to wane,
my chat up lines grow corny.

I’ll never know happened here,
to turn your keen to hate.
But nevermore will I embark
on nerve racking blind dates.

8 Responses to Blind Date

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Hah! I can relate. My blind date turned into a relationship of 13 + years and still ended up in hate. No more blind dates or any other types for that matter.

    Nice work though.

    • Simon says:

      Well this was just fiction – I have had a couple of blind dates before I was married but they were never good! Thanks for reading.

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    This made me smile, even though maybe it shouldn’t have 🙂
    Blind dates are awesome. So are the proper, planned ones.
    I wouldn’t sit on a left – seems to bring “bad luck” 😉 lol

  3. Cubby says:

    I love the rhyming. You describe things so well; I can see everything unfold in my mind’s eye. The line “my chat up lines grow corny” made me laugh out loud. Can’t get enough of your work!

    • Simon says:

      Well, once again, thank you so much. I have plenty more poems on there – some not bad some sucky. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a comment