I Don’t Want It

I don’t want your pity
or sympathy fake,
your platitudes offered
that easily grate.
I don’t want your charity
loaded with guilt,
your false obligation
discarded at will.
I don’t want bonhomie
or matey discourse,
your words sounding bitter
with lying remorse.
I don’t want your sadness
nor tears falsely shed,
your empathy offered with
slow shaken head.

Just leave me the fuck alone.

38 Responses to I Don’t Want It

  1. Chatty Owl says:

    Oh. Angry and bitter. Unlike you, darling! All ok? 😦

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Chilling. Are you ok?

  3. Borednicole says:

    I don’t think you should talk to that person anymore. LOL. Writing is the best way to get out bad feelings. Nicely done. 🙂

    • Simon says:

      Thank you, and thanks for the follow. Rest assured, this was just a fictional post – it wasn’t actually aimed at anyone. The idea came to me on the train this morning… I’m actually in a fairly good mood today!

  4. twindaddy says:

    I can totally relate to this. Like…totally.

  5. I love this! RT’d it! It’s raw!

    • Simon says:

      Thank you, I’m glad it struck a nerve with you 🙂 and thanks for the re-blog (if that’s what RT’d means!)

  6. fortyoneteen says:

    Hello Simon! Well Sir, I do adore this one AND I learnt a new word today…. which one was it? Can you guess??? Forty

  7. fibee5 says:

    i’m glad its fictional but can relate to not wanting false sympathy 🙂

  8. Cubby says:

    I laughed and grimaced at the same time at the end which I didn’t think was possible. Another finely crafted piece. 🙂

  9. beeseeker says:

    Some train journey! Think you have all the angles covered about the sometime hypocrisy of pity… With a sharp sting at the end!
    Oh, glad you’re ok, this is very convincing!

Leave a Reply

