Past

You think you can’t do it,
you think you can’t last,
you can’t see a future
uncolored by past.

You think you’ll stay lonely,
you think you’ll not change,
you can’t see beyond
previous sorrow and pain.

You think you won’t heal,
you think you won’t mend,
you think you’ll forever
have to forfend.

You think you will struggle,
you think you’ll lose fight,
you think you’ll not make it
through day and through night.

You think you can’t trust,
you think you can’t plan,
not move from the shadows
and make your own stand.

You think you’re not wanted,
you think you’re not loved,
you think you’re forsaken
by heaven above.

Well I’m here to tell you…

You’re wrong.

12 Responses to Past

  1. Avani says:

    Nice!

  2. nina01tbwr says:

    This is so me!! And I love it because it makes me feel special!! Really have enjoyed all your work that I’ve read so far… 🙂 – I’ll be re-blogging this as soon as I get a chance!

  3. nina01tbwr says:

    This is really great Simon! Reminds me a lot of me! And it gives me so much hope too… I love all your work I’ve read so far, honestly (I’m not merely returning the complements!) 🙂

    • Simon says:

      I didn’t think you were, don’t worry 🙂
      If the words I put up here are liked by even one person, it makes me happy. So thank you.

  4. nina01tbwr says:

    Ah it seems I commented twice, haha, sorry! Thought my previous one never came through! X_X

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    This poem is me. Those last two words are so difficult to believe. Beautifully written.

    • Simon says:

      Thank you. And you SHOULD believe them. All the things you think you can’t do, all the things you feel that are negative and destructive, that’s not the way it has to be.

  6. girlgoo says:

    as i said once before, very thoughtful. kind.

Leave a Reply

