Regret

Sunrise, without you,
does not light up my day.
Your words, written,
stab at me with regret.
Knowing, it’s better,
we move on alone, apart.
But wishing, yearning,
that forever was for us.
We tried, we failed,
love not strong enough.
Always, the memory,
of nights shared in embrace.
Mornings, together,
a whole day spent with you.
Move on, progress,
I tell my foolish heart.
No good, no joy,
to dwell on sweetness past.
Will life, in kindness,
grant one more chance at love.
Or will you, forever,
now own this poor man’s heart.

12 Responses to Regret

  1. fortyoneteen says:

    Argh Simon! I love the rhythm of this, it’s like a song. Beautiful.

    • Simon says:

      When I first read the ‘Argh’ bit I thought you were screaming… but thank you. 🙂

      • fortyoneteen says:

        Oops. Maybe I should have said ahhh? I would never scream at you Simon… I have a very sore throat from all those diseased kids at school! Ouchie!

      • Simon says:

        Well thank you again for being so kind about my work, and I hope you feel better soon 🙂

      • fortyoneteen says:

        Now go wash your hands, you don’t want to catch it! Ooops, I might have screamed a little then. 😉

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    Simon, this is absolutely beautiful…

  3. twindaddy says:

    Keep writing, you’ll eventually feel better once it all gets out.

  4. Reblogged this on poetreecreations.org and commented:
    We love this!

Leave a Reply

