Daily Prompt: Just A Dream

You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/daily-prompt-nightmare/

The swirling darkness starts to clear, and slowly coming into focus is a room with three doors. My dream self, trapped in this seemingly perpetual nightmare, feels the terror of the previous chase subside. Whatever was hounding me, the beating pulse of it’s footsteps drove me forward like a pack of huskies driven by a cruel and unrelenting master.

I know the unseen presence that is chasing me is somewhere behind me, and is desperate to inflict a foul and cruel punishment upon me for some unknown deed. I realize in my sleeping state that one of these three doors will hold salvation, an escape from this heart hammering, stomach churning nightmare. But which door?

As I slowly approach the three portals, my breath slows and my skin becomes clammy and cold. My heart seems to beat loud enough for my unknown aggressor to hear it, surely it will bring it crashing behind me in an orgy of fear and agony?
My footsteps are as in treacle – heavy and hard to complete. My arm stretching before me, reaching for the middle of the three doors, seems to move with the speed of an icy glacier across a cold and dark arctic sea.

Without a conscious thought I have grasped the handle of the middle door. Maybe the animal part of my brain, that which concerns itself only with fight or flight, knows that this door will be my savior. This will be the one that wakes me from this dark and dreadful dream.

As if my unknown hunter can sense it’s prey is about to escape, an unearthly howl is loosed behind me and even in sleep my body clenches and shakes with fear. As my hand, slowly, slowly, turns the handle of the door I can again feel the beating rhythm of my predators onrushing footsteps.

I feel the internal mechanism of the door engage, and I feel the weight of it as it opens inward, away from me. As though granted with the grace of a falling leaf, I slowly collapse forward through the open doorway with my chasing demon surely no more than a hairs breadth away.

Fade to black…

The swirling darkness starts to clear, and slowly coming into focus is a room with three doors. My dream self, trapped in this seemingly perpetual nightmare, feels the terror of the previous chase subside. Whatever was hounding me, the beating pulse of it’s footsteps drove me forward like a pack of huskies driven by a cruel and unrelenting master. I stop. I close my eyes. I scream.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Just A Dream

  1. Pingback: THE DEVIL’S DOORS « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Just a Dream | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: This Nightmare | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Haiku: Just A Dream… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

