Daily Prompt: Slash and Burn – The Dichotomy Of Light And Dark (trimmed)

Explanation: I wrote the original version of this earlier today. I then saw the WordPress Daily Prompt which said “Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post.”. So I trimmed the last 250 words from the original, and posted it as the Daily Prompt.
I think it still works, don’t you?
Daily Prompt

They have come to me again tonight. Their haranguing voices, one in each ear, extolling the virtues of their own existence. It seems an age since I last had peace, their company has been present for so long I have given up hope of ever being left alone. I’ve even named them. “Dark” and “Light” I call them.

Light encourages. Light reassures and soothes. When Light speaks, it’s like I’m being filled up with liquid sunshine. It warms me, makes me feel that feeling you get, when you first realize you’re in love and your stomach flutters and your chest vibrates with the force of your heart trying to grow to three times it’s normal size.

Dark ridicules. Dark criticizes and terrifies. When Dark speaks, it feels like my insides are being strip mined, so I’m left an empty husk that collapses in on itself like a plastic bottle with all the air removed.

It would be better, you’d think, if Light were the only voice. If I could silence Dark and focus on uplifting, nurturing Light. But I’ve learned that you can’t have Light without Dark. The presence of Dark brings Light into sharper, clearer focus.

And if I were to lose Light, and Dark be the only voice I heard? I’d disappear into my own depths of despair, and all would be black, cold, and empty. But Light will not let Dark have the last word, Light constantly tells me how things could be. How I could be.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers

